Professionals and Amateurs Together

Award Categories

Award Categories

McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center

Award Categories

Best in Show:  The winning piece should exhibit the best qualities of most of the following categories.

Judges Awards (3): Each of the three judges will select an entry entirely at their own discretion for one of three Awards. The intent of this award is to recognize a worthy entry that does not fit into another category or for some other reason cannot receive another award. They may also use this award for recognizing a piece that ran a close second to one of the other category winners.

Best Original Design: A well-designed piece must be both useful and pleasing to the eye. Good design is in large part a subjective opinion. It is difficult to define what good design should look like, but we can agree how it should affect a thoughtful critic. It invites a second, more intimate look, and asks to be touched by hand and spirit. This award is to be presented to the best original design, one that is not a copy of a previously designed piece..

Best Traditional Piece: This is an award for the piece which is built in the traditional manner, a reproduction or a piece heavily influenced by a traditional design.

Best Contemporary Piece : The Contemporary style is typically curated, minimal and uncluttered. It is about refined elegance, reflecting individual style and has a more fluid definition. It is a dynamic design style that changes with the current trends, so contemporary design today may look very different from contemporary design 50 years from now. It incorporates features from a variety of styles and eras, blending them with the overall minimalist look.

Best Amateur Piece: This prize is awarded to the best piece exhibited by a person for whom woodworking is an avocation.

Best Professional Piece: This prize is awarded to the best piece exhibited by a person for whom woodworking is a profession and from which they earn a living.

Best Carving: This award honors technique, craftsmanship, artistry, presentation and other elements of the carved piece such as creativity, complexity and accuracy of the piece. Carved pieces can be created using hand tools, power tools or a combination thereof.

Best Turning: This award honors the tradition of turning. This winning piece will exhibit quality of form as well as execution.

Best Decorative/Technical Detail: This award goes to the best demonstrated display of veneer, marquetry, paterae, inlay banding, stringing and/or carving.

The People’s Choice (Voted for by visitors to the show): This award is determined by ballots submitted by the public. It recognizes those people’s favorite piece in the show.

Best Student Award: This award will be made to the “best” piece submitted by a high school student. The piece will be judged on overall craftsmanship. Areas to be considered will be selection of materials appropriate for the piece, execution of joinery, and quality of finish and its appropriateness for the piece. Complexity of the piece will be considered. Extra consideration will be given to pieces of original design.

Please Note: The Judges are solely responsible for deciding which pieces will receive awards. Their decisions are final.